The Real Start

O.K., so this is the real start of my blog. I have dispatched my previous efforts to the trash and the best place for them too.

Now I can get started with a sense of purpose and hopefully, some real stuff to write about – not just toilets. The point of it all – at least at first, is to record my period as Artist in Residence at DCA in Dundee. I’m there over the next few months as part of Engage Scotland’s Everyone Project. I will  be working in the Print Studio and undertaking an Access Audit – looking at how disabled people might use the building and its facilities. The idea is that I record my findings and observations here and that it all feeds into the work that I make. I have aims of course, things which I want to achieve both personally – look at the idea of scale in my work and learn to use animation software; and for the project – encourage more disabled people to use the building and express their creativity.

I’m going to document as much as I can by what ever means are appropriate and treat it all as raw data, not so much for me to interpret but for others – be that the project organisers or someone who just happens in here. It’s research and I can’t interpret yet quite how it’s going to develop but its all very exciting.

Its important that as much information as possible gets out into the world so that everyone’s goals are achieved so I’m going to use as many links as I can to try and spread the word. Evangelical or what? This morning I made a tentative foray into twitter – I now have an identity, I’m not quite sure how I’ll use it but its there – twitter and I’m going to post this to my Facebook page so hopefully people will start picking up on it and maybe even reading it! I’m also going to get some tuition in how to use all this stuff so by the end of next week it should start looking a bit more professional.

For people who don’t know my work some current and archived stuff can be viewed here –  Gallery I hope it all works.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in art, Dundee, M.S.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Real Start

  1. Hello Jackie – and well done for getting your blogspot up and running – that’s great!

Leave a Reply

