Distracted in Dreamland

Amazing how just when you think you have mastered something, it creeps up behind you and bites you on the bum. I have just wasted an hour or so trying to set up a gallery of my digital prints on the My Work page which Craig, my excellent WordPress tutor set up for me. I have just somehow deleted it all. Many expletives!

It is probably all down to fatigue, I am dog tired again. I don’t seem to be able to manage more than two days work before the shutters drop and so do I. There seems to be a world of difference between working away on my little projects at home and the big bad world of external work. Part of it of course is down to my long held but  erroneous belief that if I spurn it and show it who’s boss, my M.S. will curl up and behave. But actually, like so much else; it too creeps up behind you and bites your bum.

So I had to ignore Monday and cancel Tuesday before I could battle my way in to the Studio on Wednesday to be faced with a computer programme, Flash, which appeared totally alien. Not a glimmer of recognition – well apart from the button that lets you set up your film speed. 24 fps of oh dear, what do I do now? I had spent some time setting up a folder of visual resources – images I might want to use in my film on the Print Studio computer, so was feeling somewhat cocky about having stuff to do and felt more than a little deflated by this setback. More tuition then.

On Thursday both myself and my colleague Aidan were scheduled to give an introductory talk about our work  to DCA staff and yet again, I was thwarted by technology. I was unable to get my Apple Mobile Me Gallery up properly on an old PC laptop running Internet Explorer, so my images were not as good as they were supposed to be. Then I had trouble seeing which image Sarah, who was working it was showing – which didn’t give me much to speak to. So I waffled and werbled on for a decent enough time but I don’t think it was very informative. I was way too certain about being able to ad-lib something interesting – a lesson. I should know by now, preparation, preparation, preparation.

One good thing came out of the afternoon in the form of a nice little compact camera for me to use for my ‘Hall of Shame’, Access Audit photographs. These should start appearing next week, all being well. One of the first contenders for ignominy has to be the Print Studio door which I cannot open from either direction. It’s way too heavy and I can’t reach the keypad on the outside or work the funny, knurly handle on the inside. This means that I keep having to ask people to let me in and out – more than a little tiresome as neither can I use the Studio lavatory. Another fine image to follow! My pathetic M.S. bladder means that they really need someone posted there full time, just to keep up with my visits to the facilities. Oh the joys.

So now I’m going to get back to that gallery, if it’s there when you look I’ve at last had some success.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in art, DCA, Dundee, M.S.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Distracted in Dreamland

  1. Hello Jackie – I really appreciate the effor you are putting into this blog!
    Hope the camera is a help, and btw your talk was great, all related to the artworks and process of making, with some wee anecdotes added in – staff feedback has been very good. People really enjoyed hearing you. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

