Stop Me if You’ve Heard This One Before

Quite a week this week in many ways and as usual on a Friday, I am exhausted. Insomnia has its own systems for disturbing your equilibrium. It is sly and often decides its going exercise its authority only once its lured you into bed wasted. then, having waited for you to get your head down, it leaps up waving its arms about in abandon – shouting rubbish at you about things which, should, in their own rights, have been put to bed with no supper hours ago.

Last night was just such a night. I’d spent all afternoon in the Print Studio battling with Flash, to mixed results, before escaping back home to Ramshackle Cottage and the now ever present, builders. Understandably jaded, having already dropped off in front of  Billy Conolly’s Route 66, I was in bed by 10.00 and looking forward to a nice long sleep when, snap! I’m wide awake re-running the afternoon’s film editing traumas. I don’t seem to understand anything any better than previously, its just that my mind seems convinced that if I turn it all over frequently enough, the proverbial penny will finally drop. Words fail me!

For once this is not an M.S. symptom, in fact the Diazepam which I take to ameliorate the night spasms, usually knocks me out sufficiently to ensure a good few hours kip. But not always. So today I am once again struggling to concentrate – forgive me please for any seemingly random digressions, I’m doing my best and I have a nasty pain in my typing arm.

On Monday I was back in the Studio to be further educated into the ways of Flash animation by the excellent Craig. In the week which had elapsed since my last session on this I had downloaded lots of my images to the computer there, so we had these to work with as opposed to rather meaningless abstract examples – how to make a bouncing ball. It all went very well and I seemed  to be getting the hang of it. I certainly had a section of albeit rather rapidly moving, work by the end of the afternoon. Confident that I could now fly solo, I booked the computer for Tuesday and promptly went down with an infection. You don’t want to know.

So it was yesterday before I got back to what I laughingly refer to myself as my film. The whole process wasn’t as bad as before; nowhere near, but any headway was still very slow and shaky. An hour and a half to make a blob appear, shrink and disappear; hardly noticeable in the great scheme of things, but it passes for progress. We’ll just have to wait until Monday to find out whether or not its sustainable.

Anyway, once the blob had moved I felt vindicated in taking a quick turn around the building with my magic mini camera. Visit now my Wall of Shame! Even with a lovely little compact camera like this one, its  hard for me to take decent photographs one handed without a tripod but these should serve their purpose. More of the place’s foibles will be revealed in gory detail over the next few weeks. Not least what goes on in the Print Studio itself and in the forgotten land on level two.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in art, DCA, Dundee, M.S.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

