Time is not my Friend

Its been a quiet week in the Print Studio. For me at least. Yet again  I’ve wasted a lot of time in front of a computer screen failing to achieve the impossible. Very frustrating. As usual I was fired with enthusiasm by a tuition session on Monday, Flash Animation held no fears for me. By Tuesday I was struggling once more, images flying around all over the place and refusing to be subdued by force of will. What I was trying to achieve seemed simple enough, I have an action happening from left to right and I wanted to make a similar action happen from right to left. After many hours of trying to  make the Earth move I realised that the whole thing was down to a timeline issue. I don’t want to start getting too technical here (oh that I could!) but basically, time and its bosom buddy the animation timeline, only goes in one direction. And  that direction is left to right. In order to subvert this simple rule you either need a big blue box and a sonic screwdriver or considerably more sophisticated Flash technique than I have. I need a simpler plan.

I might be wrong of course, there may well be something else I’m missing but in the early hours of this morning – insomnia again, it hit me with unexpected clarity. Its the timeline, stupid. So now I can’t wait till Monday to get in and see if I am right.

Meanwhile, back home at Ramshackle Cottage I am exhausted due to lack of sleep and am getting irrationally irritated by the constant hammering and banging coming from the builder’s end of the house. Only another five weeks to go.

Anyway, apologies to any fans of my ‘Wall of Shame’ , I just haven’t had time to get around with my camera this week. I did have a flurry of activity on Thursday in an attempt to capture the inappropriate nature of the tap which won’t switch on – level three toilets; but the flash just bounced off the chrome and the pictures were no use. A shame, as I had hoped to betray the deceit of the button paradoxically labelled ‘touch’, which in truth requires a significant and awkward pressure to make it work. Difficult to accomplish at the best of times but apparently impossible from a seated position, particularly when covered in slimy handwash. Frustrating then, when covered in the offending handwash, I headed back to the studio and washed the awful stuff off at the kitchen sink, only to find that I couldn’t reach the towel dispenser.

It’s gone quiet at last, it must be after four o’clock. Now I can  look forward to a quiet and relaxing weekend. I ‘m feeling a bit guilty about this as there is a lot happening this weekend which I feel I ought to be participating in, not least The Big Draw at DCA and Perthshire Visual Arts Forum at the Birnam Arts Centre in Dunkeld. Great events both, but possibly not as attractive as the couch potato option of Wales versus Ireland in the Rugby World Cup quarter finals. If only it didn’t start at five a.m.. Think I’ll stay in bed.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time is not my Friend

  1. Thanks for the Big Draw mention – good thinking Batwoman!

Leave a Reply

