The Home Straight

After twelve weeks fairly intensive work, my  residency is finally approaching its conclusion. My film is at last finished and has just been submitted as part of an application to Dundee Visual Artists Award scheme for funding to help develop my animation projects; I have just done a building tour with DCA’s Head of Operations and Buildings Manager, allowing me to show them the worst of the place’s access issues  and I’m about to do an end of project talk for staff, including a screening of the film; hopefully in the cinema.

Maybe its because I can now see the finishing post, but I feel utterly drained. I had quite forgotten  how much these kind of projects can take out of you and lets face it, I am not as young and no where near as fit as I used to be. It has been enjoyable though, despite the frustrations of learning new software and the fact that I generally feel like a zombie. Juggling the project and the builders and life, without resorting to copious quantities of gin has been a minor triumph.

The final push to get a screenable version of the film proved far more complicated then I had imagined and occupied most of last Saturday to no avail. Why you can’t simply save Flash animation as a Quicktime movie I don’t know but you can’t. At least not without losing your soundtrack and acquiring strange jumps and glitches in your film. What appeared on the surface a basic task took hours. Addled by the complexity of it all I conceded to the amazing Susan, whose analytical skills and persistence saved the day. And even she had to take the thing home with her to finish it off. So fingers crossed it works on Monday.

Words are not flowing today so this won’t be a long post, just a bit of an update to keep things going. I really need a nice cup of tea and that almost inevitable nap, especially as it is now almost dark. Working at night you ask? No chance. Just four o’clock on a dull Dundee day. I’m already looking forward to the Spring!

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

