Better Late Than

At last, the plumber has just finished connecting up the cooker. Real food tonight for the first time in ages. I have already emailed B and asked him to buy something suitably celebratory – suckling pig perhaps or a large haunch of venison. My Sherwood Forest tendencies are obviously kicking in, perhaps I should suggest a bottle of Buckie to wash it all down with. In reality, it will probably be the champagne that’s been in the fridge since Wales were robbed of their place in the final of the rugby world cup and a Tesco’s Finest free range chicken, but it will be savoured.

You can just spot the cooker lurking beneath that sheet of cardboard, note also the unexpected presence of the dishwasher.

This time last week I was predicting that all this would be accomplished by Wednesday. Wishful thinking again, I really should know better by now, but at least it’s in for the weekend as is the new front door; which you can just see if you squint out through the shower room window in the picture below. The lavatory in the kitchen by the way, is only a temporary arrangement and is awaiting its final resting place in this very shower room. Eventually.

So its not been a bad week all things considered. I got the Christmas cards finished and posted  and second class at that, and I finished my book group book in time for next week’s meeting on Tuesday. I didn’t enjoy it that much either, which I find always makes the discussion so much meatier. Yesterday was really the high point though as I finally heard I have been awarded my DVAA grant, so its a new imac for me – the 27″ one if you’re interested, and the start of months of frustration as I get properly to grips with the animation software. On top of all that I finally got paid by the Council for the residency. Well, half of it anyway. Blogging really doesn’t get better than that.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in art, books, building, DCA, Dundee, M.S., Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

