Beauty and the Beast

It’s been a very confusing week this week, but then the holidays always are a bit weird. I was convinced that yesterday was not only Thursday but also Hogmanay. I don’t know. You work it out, but it was really deep seated and I couldn’t get things sorted out for the life of me. So now I’m doing my blog today, which I thought was Friday but is actually Saturday – so I’m a day later than normal and it IS bloody Hogmanay, which I’ve always hated and I haven’t succeeded in either sleeping through it, or doing what they’ve just done in Tonga (or is it Samoa?) and moving the International Date Line so that the awful forced jollity just ceases to exist. Bah humbug!!

My disorientation could possibly be attributed  to the large quantities of festive alcohol which have been consumed over the past week or so but it was a pretty abstemious day yesterday, so I’m inclined to think not. My own best theory involves a combination of both the almost constant presence of B – off work till the 4th and the total absence of builders, not back until the 8th. Surely enough to bewilder anyone.

It was actually an enjoyable and highly satisfying Christmas as we achieved our goal and cooked our Christmas dinner in our new almost finished kitchen and ate it in the adjacent, soon to be completed study/dining room. Surrounded by two saw horses, two large buckets of jointing compound, several cans of paint, bags of tools, bits of pipe and a party of shepherds.

It has been a largely quiet and undemanding week, during which I have spent most of my time  gazing in wonder at my beautiful new ipad. A truly amazing piece of technology of which I have become almost matriarchally protective and irrationally possessive; whilst also trying to work out how to use my beast of a new mobile. I don’t exactly hate it but it was far from love at first sight and I still haven’t got the  hang of it. They don’t call them androids for nothing and that little blobby character who pops up every now and then is really rather sinister and of little comfort. It has been quite a hard core techie Christmas as I also now have my new computer, courtesy of DVAA, which arrived the other day – I’ve given up trying to identify which one and it’s as lovely as the ipad in it’s own elegant, understated ludicrously large screened way. Someone told me that Steve Jobs is up for Channel Four’s  New Year Person of the old Year. If he is – he gets my vote. Happy New Year!

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in art, books, Dundee, M.S.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

