A Slow Return to Real Life

I know, its all gone tits up over the past couple of weeks. My temporal confusion has only just settled and a residual disorientation still remains, but at least if I think hard enough I can, once again,  correctly identify what day it is – Thursday, right? So here I am as usual, trying to sum up in an entertaining fashion the events of the holiday fortnight which were, on the whole, not that entertaining. The weather put paid to what was intended as a last festive gasp last Wednesday as our guests were all grounded by the hundred plus mile an hour winds which closed every bridge that connects Dundee to the real world. Hence no trains and a procession of high sided vehicles overturned on the motorway keeping everyone at home. Our unfortunate friend Jenny who stayed over on the Tuesday night, left here at 9.15 in the morning to return to Glasgow and a visit to the pantomime with her nieces only to phone us at 7.30 having just got home, panto abandoned. Oh yes it was.

The still ever present builders returned to work on Monday and are purposefully engaged in being’finished by the end of these week’, as we speak; just five more hours to go then? Somehow, I don’t think so. It is all looking one hell of a lot better though and we have a functioning but still chaotic kitchen  and a new wetroom, which for some reason B. now prefers to our nice, convenient en-suite and trecks off to in his dressing gown every morning. The novelty is bound to wear off sometime.

Although the fully employed world has been hard at it for almost a week now,  I am still idling in front of the fire playing with my new technology. Self motivation is not a constant and especially at the end of a project, as now, my natural  penchant for time wasting and serial novel reading tends to assert its sway. Especially as a very welcome aspect of my festive new technology embodies the means to satisfy the most rampant book binge. Yes, I have off course installed the wonderfully Kindle software on my iPad – there is currently no stopping me. The ability to download a whole book with just one little tap on the screen is highly seductive. But I’ve got to start work again sooner or later, it’s just a question of when. My film is being shown in the cinema at DCA next Friday, so I’m hoping that the shock of having to introduce it to a room full of paying customers will shock me out of my torpor. That and being on a double bill with Terrence Mallick.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in access, art, books, DCA, Dundee, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

