Well, at Least the Sun is Out

Weather wise it’s actually been quite a remarkable February, March 1st – St David’s day for all you unfortunate non-Welsh folk, yesterday and I spent the afternoon sitting in the garden absorbing the beneficial rays. I was actually way too exhausted to do very much else as I’d had a grim sleepless night on Wednesday with regular spasms in my legs preventing any consistent kip. I haven’t had a  good moan about my M.S. for ages and I’m about to indulge now so if you don’t want to go there again, look away now.

I know that there is sweet F.A. to be gained from moaning but every so often it just feels like the right thing to do – so, I’m fed up. It doesn’t matter what you do – how much snake oil you consume or how many physiotherapy sessions you go to, it just won’t go away. That’s the thing with chronic illness, it’s relentless. So there you have it, end of story. I could go on but in the interest of preserving whatever small audience I reach with this twaddle, that’s it until next time the whinging Winnie in me asserts itself.

So what have I done this week aside from the daily battle with my symptoms – oh no, it seems to be resuming, a hard thing to staunch the whinge!

Well, not a great deal really. I did of course watch Wales’s glorious victory on Saturday which certainly raised the spirits and expedited the consumption of large quantities of alcohol. All in the company of good friends Lyell and Catherine, who we hadn’t seen for a while – very jolly. And once the fog of success had finally passed on Sunday morning, we went out for a welcome synapse tingling walk with the dog around the new Riverside Nature Park AKA the West End landfill site, nicer than it sounds and a good spot for wildlife – no, not just seagulls. I should really have taken my camera but sadly the fog was somewhat slow in lifting in toto.

Monday and Tuesday were almost completely devoted to serious displacement activity interspersed with exhilarating sessions of software tuition, so at least I’ve made a few tentative steps towards creative resurgence. As an aspect of which I’ve  been continuing my iPad finger painting efforts, although after watching David Hockney on BBC Two the other night I have decided that public display of my handiwork is maybe not advisable quite yet. Sorry Sarah.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in access, alternative therapies, art, Dundee, M.S., Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

