I Crack at Titles!

It’s been a technologically dominated week this week – back to the Print Studio working with the eye tracking gizmo, somewhat more successfully than hitherto; plus I have now got this  new dictation device on my computer, very  space age. Unfortunately, it’s not quite as accurate as it might be so if there are strange curveball glitches going on in this piece you’ll know why. For instance, I didn’t say curveball I said verbal (this time it came up with global) – it’s obviously American.

I’ve actually been correcting it as I go along, I just left curveball in for a joke – there maybe one or two other jokes as we proceed you’ll just have to try and spot them. It beats typing either way and at least it knows what a full stop is, I think if I had to keep saying period every few minutes I’d just curl up.

So, where are we with the eye tracking? Are we back where we started or has progress really been made? After the minor triumph of creating Yellow Dog Dingo (finger, hee-hee), my next session deteriorated into total anarchy. I couldn’t even get the thing calibrated for my eyes and spent the whole morning just trying to get the damn thing set up. However this week, I (philistine – oh well!) feel there’s been a definite breakthrough –  this might be famous last words of course but there was certainly a modicum of control. Paul Klee said that drawing is simply taking a line for a walk and whilst I couldn’t actually say that I’ve been walking, I have managed a plausible drunken stagger. Klee’s effortless fluidity can wait until next week – at least I’ve made a start.

It’s a drawing Jim, but not as we know it.

And feedback on the dictation device? It’s fun and at least it can spell – there might just be a small prize for guessing what the real title of this piece should be.

Link to Eye Can Draw project blog

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

