Eye – Eye Capt’n!

I never thought that the day would arrive but I finally managed to get the eye tracker to work well on Monday – amazing! After several frustrating weeks of  unruly virtual scribble, I have achieved if not exactly art, a passable sort of doodle. Not just the usual spiky sort of doodle either but one with actual curves. As I’m sure I’ve mentioned at least once before, control is the crux of the eye tracker and sufficient control to construct anything of a bendy nature had thus so far eluded me. But no longer, see below.

I don’t know if you can see in any detail but you can maybe gather from this work in progress that in order to draw with the damn thing you need to drop points, rather like you would in Adobe Illustrator, the green blob that you can see is the cursor which you have to move with your eyes in order to move your ‘line’ about. The cursor is welded to the line so unless you successfully drop a point to alter its course it proceeds merrily along as straight as an arrow. In order to draw a curved line you need to construct it from lots of little straight ones. If that makes any sense. It is totally counterintuitive, requires immense concentration and is very hard work; so with a nod to all that I’ve started calling this little  image Fish in a Barrel and I don’t think I’ve been so pleased with a piece of work in a very long time. Elation would not be too strong a word!

One the hard part is compete, the resulting image is fed into another computer and can be used to drive, in this case, a mechanical engraving tool which scribes the work onto a plastic plate which can then be inked up and printed in the traditional manner, as seen above.

My only disappointment involves getting my head around the thing which I always forget about printmaking – you can tell that I’m an amateur, and that’s that prints come out backwards. Oh Well!

See more on the Eye Can Draw blog page.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in access, art, DCA, Dundee, etching, eye tracking, M.S., print and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

