My Little Eye

Well, I’m still at it with the eye tracking. I’m not sure how long the project is going to last, but it has gradually changed from being damned hard work to being really quite good fun, so I’m hoping it has a way to go yet. I’m actually beginning to devise ways in which I may be able to use it in my work, which is really quite exciting. Watch this space for further developments.

This week, I did a combined session with fellow artist Dawson Murray, with the purpose of demonstrating to him my burgeoning skill and confidence with the technology – believe it, I am getting better! Dawson also has M.S. and is the second of Rob’s target guinea pigs for the project.  Like me, he found the tracker difficult to use on his first session, so it was my job on Monday to show him something of its potential, and by the end of the morning, he did seem to find it more promising.

It’s interesting how individual artists see different possibilities in the same tool. Dawson works in traditional media with an assistant to help him make his work, and he immediately thought of ways he could make that relationship more fluent by drawing stencils and guides. Whilst I work with a computer and digital technology and am beginning to view the tracker as something altogether more direct. I am still essentially undertaking exercises to improve my facility at eye drawing, can I make parallel lines or construct a convincing curve?

But despite myself, I am now is starting to think of them as drawings and was quite irrationally thrilled when Dawson said that this one (below) reminded him of a  Kandinsky!

I can see it myself, this device obviously has something!

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in access, art, DCA, Dundee, eye tracking, M.S., print. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

