Where to start?

It’s been so long since I’ve been here that I barely know where to start at bringing things up-to-date. Since my last post, so much printing has been going on. At some point over the past few months, we’ve had our proposal to show work at the Impact eight printmaking conference accepted; worked like stink at it, and finally, last week seen it all come to fruition.

eyecandraw

As you can see above, the space for Dawson and myself was somewhat constrained but I think we made the best of it and certainly, lots of interest  was generated in the project. It was a fairly prestigious event for us to be involved in and we were all very pleased to be selected. But if you must know, I was more than a little irritated by the fact that a project which is predicated upon the notion of enabling disabled artists to forward their work, should be showcased in such an inaccessible place. How the University of Dundee can get away with it in this day and age I really don’t know, but if a disabled artist should ever apply to attend Duncan of Jordanstone, God knows how they’d cope. Physical access is appalling, the building is full of flights of stairs and steps between levels – there are few ramps and there appears to be only one disabled toilet in the entire building, just outside the library and well away from the studio space. Maybe they just weed all us cripples out at the interview stage!

On a happier note we’re working on getting more shows for the project and it looks like our work is going to be featured in the Print Gallery at DCA very soon. Again, it’s a fairly small space and again, access is awful – but it keeps us in the public eye.

Earlier in the year the project was featured in the Small Society Lab event in the VRC, a very nice, large white box type of space and even if I say so myself, my work looked great.

VRC2 VRC1

Well, that’s all for now folks – my computer is malfunctioning. Typical! Just one more pic for luck.

VRC3

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in access, art, DCA, Dundee, eye tracking, M.S., print, screen printing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

