Did I jump or was I pushed?

Last time I saw Clive in the Print Studio he said ‘I haven’t seen your blog for a while’ and I hedged about a bit and had to admit that as he suspected, the blog wasn’t occupying quite the place in my current life that it once had. I hadn’t made any decision to stop writing, it’s just that my well-known motivational problems had once again taken centre stage. Well, that and a fairly busy work schedule interspersed with the inevitable MS related health issues. The winter is always a bad time for me. The cold, damp, and lack of daylight inevitably prompt me to batton down the hatches. Basically, I retreat to my comfy armchair in front of the fire with my Kindle and my iPad and immerse myself in vital novel reading and aimless web browsing. I don’t want to mislead you though, it’s not all been Wolf Hall, H is for Hawk and the latest Boden sale, I have managed to achieve a few things too. I think I last left you with the threat to reacquaint myself with the dreaded Illustrator and to revisit the backlog of drawings which I made on the Eye Can Draw  project. This I have actually done. I am still not quite what you would call fluent with the dratted ‘I’ thing but I have succeeded in making a series of digital prints which combine what  we called  ‘the flashy ones’ made with the eye tracker  (see below), with simple geometric elements

multi flashy

created in the programme. To be honest, the majority of the computer-based work in these pieces was actually made using tried and tested old PhotoShop – sometimes life is just too short for continual Adobe based learning activity; the urge to make stuff just takes over. Et voila! Before we know it we have a short series of what have proved to be, quite successful digital prints.

Much to my surprise, not only was one of them shortlisted for the 2014 Lumen Prize for digital art, where it can still aparently  be seen in their online gallery. But  also, they formed the basis of a successful application to DVAA for a grant to physically print the things, which look great by the way. And finally, as if that were not enough, they have recently been shown along with an intimately related short animated film in the Information Space at DCA where Rob and I also gave a well attended talk on

poster

the project and the work. So that’s you brought more or less up-to-date.

In the aftermarth, I am trying to get my head around making another animation, I don’t want to lose my hard won reacquaintance with Flash pro, and Rob has moved onwards and upwards to new job at the University, see for the amazing details. We hope to be able to continue with the eye tracking work but it’s necessarilly all a bit up in the air at the moment. Right now I’m thinking of revamping the blog a bit, Word press is another thing I really need to get my head around better.

About mssmith57

I'm an artist and novice blogger. I love books, good food, red wine and jazz. I also have M.S. so I write about the practicalities of life as a disabled artist. It might be challenging but its not all grim! My work's quite jolly really.
This entry was posted in access, art, DCA, Dundee, eye tracking, M.S., print. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

